Home » Uncategorized » Skating

Skating

Lesson with Coach A today.

Double Salchow (drill)

Helped when I focused on:

  • Toe – i.e. taking off from the L toe
  • R side – i.e. focusing on getting my weight transfer to my R side
  • Foot under – i.e. pushing the R foot under the L foot

This seemed to make me fairly stable and I rotated quite quickly.

The key will be trying to get the foot under (i.e. crossing) while IN THE AIR rather than landing and then crossing.

Camel-sit spin

Getting into camel: focus on R OUTSIDE EDGE

Transition into sit: bring the L arm forward; then allow the body to come a little upright before bringing the R arm around and forward to balance out the R leg.

Spin exits (in general)

My landing position has been a bit twisted, with the L leg too far behind the body.  The L leg needs to be out to the side more and further up.

Back spin exit

Coach noticed that, when I’m exiting my back upright, I almost seem to be stopping on the spot before exiting.

Instead, think about allowing the RBO circle to widen and then push the L leg back while keeping the body upright.

Leave a Reply

