Home » Uncategorized » Practice at Slough ice rink

Practice at Slough ice rink

DOUBLE SALCHOW

Got good rotation and was mostly only a quarter under-rotated!  Mainly achieved this by thinking about taking off from the toe (which must have helped me to get more height).

So:

  • Shoulder – i.e. L shoulder forward
  • Jump together – i.e. R knee and R arm come in at same time
  • Toe – i.e. take off from L toe

CAMEL SPIN

In my lesson, my spins are often worse than in practice.  But coach spotted two errors I was making: a) my upper body was too far up, and b) I wasn’t bending L knee enough.

So:

  • Wind
  • Look (over L shoulder)
  • Body – i.e. start bending upper body lower as if going under a goal post
  • Bend (L knee)

CAMEL-SIT

Managed to do a few camel-sit combination spins by bringing the L arm around more.  Coach suggested that I think about bringing the L arm (and R arm) around like a butterfly motion.  This helped!

 

Leave a Reply

