Home » Uncategorized » Today’s epiphanies

Today’s epiphanies

DOUBLE LOOP

I managed one sorta double loop (well, landing forwards but on one foot and then back spinning to backwards).  But remembered that Coach 1 recommended a drill which I haven’t done for a while.

So I need to practise my back spin, doing a jump into the air, and then landing in crossed position and continuing the back spin.

ACTION: DO SOME BACK SPIN, JUMP, BACKSPIN DRILLS BEFORE TACKLING THE DOUBLE LOOP

Also made me realise that it helps me to stay on the correct edge on landing if I keep my arms crossed over my R side and L shoulder checked forward.

DOUBLE SALCHOW

Did some ‘knee in, toe down’ drills – i.e. doing a normal salchow, but focusing on turning the L knee in and getting the toe down.  Without much added effort, I’m getting about 1 and a quarter to 1 and a half rotation.  So this is a good drill for me to encourage me to cross properly.

Also thinking about bringing the R arm in with only a shallow scooping action, to allow me to stay over my L side on take off rather than dropping the R shoulder.

CAMEL SPIN

Did some great camel spins by keeping the free leg down.

I realised that in my back camel, I do much better spins when I keep my free leg down for longer.  Think of the face of a clock.  If I enter the RFI edge at 6 o’clock, then my R leg goes up to horizontal at about 9 o’clock rather than 12 o’clock.

Likewise, my (forward) camel is better when I keep the free leg down.  So the new checklist is:

  • Wind
  • Look
  • Core, hip, leg = with the leg part meaning to keep it down for longer before lifting it up into horizontal camel position

ACTION: WAIT TO LIFT THE FREE LEG INTO CAMEL

Leave a Reply

